Lent: Mean Everything To Nothing

manchester-orchestra-mean-everything-to-nothing-insert-2

A few weeks ago I realized that the season of Lent was quickly approaching and I had no idea how I was going to participate. One of my New Year’s resolutions in 2014 was to be more intentional with my blogging. I made the goal of posting once a week to stay in the rhythm of it. So far I’ve been somewhat successful in keeping up with it.

But back to Lent…

I’ve figured out one of the things I’d like to do through this season of the year. But first I have a question and a confession. Have you ever read the Bible and felt like it wasn’t written for you? Kind of like opening a piece of mail and realizing it’s somebody else’s mail?* I have.

Another question and confession. Have you ever read a book or poem or heard a song that really DOES speak to you? I have. For me, it’s been a particular band: Manchester Orchestra. I remember discovering these fellas during my senior year of high school and immediately loving their sound and lyrics. Something about their music just captured me and they’ve been one of my favorites since. This rock band plays music that captures my own personal emotions, thoughts, and longings.

jacobLed by front man Andy Hull – who, like myself, is the son of a pastor- who sings with raw power and honesty, their music simply resonates with me. So I thought it could be interesting and fun to blog through one of my favorite albums of theirs Mean Everything To Nothing** during the season of Lent. Hull’s song writing wrestles with life, faith, doubt, God, in a way that doesn’t give easy answers – and sometimes no answers – but leaves the listener, as Jacob, with a wrenched hip – a sign that God has been wrestled with.

To be honest, I’m not sure exactly where this will go. I’m not sure if I’ll always know how to interpret the songs on this record. I’m not sure if I’ll have anything of significance to write on each of them. I’m not even sure if I will come to the same conclusions as these musicians and song writers. But I feel like that is part of the Lenten journey: not knowing exactly where we’re going. Sure, this season is heading to the cross and ultimately resurrection. But I’m not sure if I can get there honestly if I know exactly what’s waiting for me at the end. Sure I know it’s through death that we get to resurrection (that is the story we’re a part of), but I’m not exactly sure what death and resurrection are going to look like when I get there.

So here’s how it’s going to work…

I’ll include a YouTube video of each track I blog about from Mean Everything To Nothing. And I will include my thoughts, reflections, introspection, etc. each day. Pretty simple. Again, I’m not sure what will come of this but I look forward to the journey.

For all who are taking the journey through Lent this season, I hope you will find the space and time to reflect inward, outward and upward. I hope you’ll find God in unexpected places. I hope you’ll find what you need to live and what you can live without. I hope you’ll find yourself falling into the life, death, and resurrection rhythm of Jesus.

*Does Jesus Really Love Me? by Jeff Chu, pg. 2. Thought this was a really interesting, and true, way to put it.

**Song List:

1. “The Only One” 2:39
2. “Shake it Out” 5:11
3. “I’ve Got Friends” 4:57
4. “Pride” 5:47
5. “In My Teeth” 4:42
6. “100 Dollars” 1:50
7. “I Can Feel a Hot One” 4:19
8. “My Friend Marcus” 3:41
9. “Tony the Tiger” 3:09
10. “Everything to Nothing” 5:37
11. “The River
Leave a Reply

