Lent: Not Giving Up

lentIt’s hard to believe that Lent is just around the corner. I’ve never been one to give some thing up: chocolate, soda, coffee, swearing, etc.  Not sure if it just never appealed to me or I never saw the point or I’m just too weak to actually give up coffee.

It seems that “taking up” is more in the spirit of Lent – “take up your cross and follow me.” Taking up infers that we’ll have to give something up. If I take up a spiritual discipline, it will probably mean less time wandering around Facebook. If I take up intentional time doing something, it means disrupting time as I know it in my current daily life.

So what do I need to take up? Not sure yet. I’ve got a few ideas floating around, but nothing definite yet. Any suggestions?

Oh, and I don’t have 25 creative ideas for Lent. Sorry if the picture was deceiving 🙂

Leave a Reply

